Reasons to try no screen before school

The Absorbent Teacher

Good Guys Wear White Hats by John Philip Falter

I confess that I come down firmly on the con side of watching television before school. I don’t know if it’s because I’m a teacher or because I’m not a parent (it’s easy for me to say since I’m not running around after small children every morning), but this is something I feel very strongly about. And from talking to the other teachers at my school, I’d say that many of my colleagues agree. I’m not suggesting that television be cut from one’s life entirely–many of us watch television in our own free time (and willingly admit to it!)–but here are some of reasons why I suggest you eliminate it from your morning routine:

  1. Television interferes with the students’ ability to focus. The immediacy and speed with which television delivers information is known to shorten their attention span. When students come to school fresh from watching morning…

View original post 211 more words

One thought on “Reasons to try no screen before school

Leave a Reply

